Lipstick

Published December 7, 2012 by Lily DeLuxe

A few things brightens me up like make-up does. It virtually transforms me. I see my unmade face as a canvas, where I can create a look, a mood or a feeling depending on what I am after. On stage the make up is often exaggerated and I use false eyelashes and a lot of glitter to make my face visible from a distance. That is work and something I enjoy doing.

But on normal days like this gloomy December, I like to create energy, spirit and a sence that everything is possible. When the sun is out I don’t really need much make up but as soon as it´s overcast I need a little pick me up. That can often be a shimmery eyeshadow, eyeliner drawn in a new way or for instant glamour and drop-dead gorgeousness it´s red lipstick.

lipstick, lily deluxe blog, lipstick

Few things transform the face and gives you an instant mood lift as much as rouge du levre as the french say. You can wear it with full makeup or in its own and it will still make you look sophisticated. Automatically it will give the impression that you are not afraid to speak your mind and that what you say is worth listening to. The colour red oozes confidence and determination, which is undeniable good qualities to have whether you are going at work, on a date or at the gym.

Personally I like to wear it in my yoga class. It gives me the feeling that noting is impossible and makes me brave and in a way stronger. This can off coure be applied to any other situation. It almost works as a mask if confidence, when I wear red lipstick I can do anything.

Lily DeLuxe lips, red lipstick

It´s ofcourse also very sexy and if you wear it on a date the chances are that you are going to get dreamy stares at you mouth rather than your eyes, but hey whatever works.

I have been advised against wearing in on job interviews. I can understand that in a conservatory workplace this can be a bit bold and too much. However that is exactly what I am so what you see is what you get. If the office does not like red lippy, I do not like the office.

I say stand you ground, wear it and let it brighten your mood, your strength and if you wear a creamy lipstick you never have to worry about chapped lips!

Leave a comment