The Burlesque Body

Published February 2, 2012 by Lily DeLuxe

After a show, the singer of a famous band came up to me and thanked me for the show adding, “it´s nice to see a burlesque performer with a good-looking body for a change”. While I understand that he was  paying me a compliment, I got provoked. In saying that, he did not only diss my fellow burlesque sisters but he completely missed the point. I have said it before and I say it again. it´s not what you look like, it´s what you do. We are all born with unique bodies, your gene pool is the reason you look one way or the other. There will always be personal preferences, small bust, big bums, round hips, big boobs, short legs, slender arms whatever. That is taste and that is something  you cannot discuss, it´s different for every one of us.

What you do is important. As producer of Burleskapader, I get a lot of videos from all sorts of performers. Not once have I ever though about somebody body. I look for what you do with it and how you use it. I am not interested in perfect dance steps or perfect pitch in a song. I want to see energy and commitment. A spring in the step, a cheeky smile and an idea of some sort.

This is also why I think it´s a shame that more and more burlesque performers have breastimplants. I am not at all against plastic surgery, but the burlesque scene is really one arena where you can come as a you are and where different bodies are appreciated and welcomed. There is not a set beauty standard, there is only what you do those magical moments on stage and what you share with your audience.

I don´t do burlesque to be pretty or because I have a certain body. I do it because I love performing and I have an idea that I want to present to the audience and hopefully they will enjoy it and I can take them on an ever so small but magical journey.

Who can illustrate this better that talented, beautiful, sexy Selene Luna!

Leave a comment